I think I saw somewhere that we're supposed to delete images we've posted before a thread is archived. Will we get notified before it's archived?
Good Question!
There is no official notification before swaps are archived.
Archiving happens after a swap is completed, or when there is no further activity posted to the swap, or when the swap becomes old enough for no one to be making comments. Based on these and other variables, there is no "rule" that a swap gets archived after "X" days or 30 days after swap end, or some other specific timing.
It is therefore wise to delete ones own photos after returns are received by most of the swap participants. This allows "you" to receive cool feedback and reputation points from those who receive your cards in their returns and LOVE them.
Note that your posted images count toward the total number of images any member is allowed to post, so deleting one's posted images after returns have been received is the reason you want to do so, or you will not be able to post future images if you reach your allotted amount of postings.
If you do forget to delete old images, or images from archived swaps, you will need to ask staff to do it for you.
Fortunately, that is not a big deal, but you do have to ask if the swap has already beren archived.
Hope I answered everything! :0)